News Release

<< Back
2015 Cybersecurity Canon Award Winners Inducted at Ignite 2015

Santa Clara, Calif., March 31, 2015 – Palo Alto Networks® (NYSE: PANW), the leader in enterprise security, today announced the 2015 Cybersecurity Canon award winners.  The canon honors authors and works of literature that accurately depict the history, milestones, and culture of the modern cybersecurity industry.

Winning authors were inducted during the opening general session at the Palo Alto Networks Ignite 2015 conference, where IT security professionals come to get their toughest security challenges solved. Cybersecurity Canon awards and award winners include: 

  • Cyber Crime: Spam Nation by Brian Krebs
  • Cyber Espionage: The Cuckoo’s Egg by Clifford Stoll
  • Cyber History and Culture: Winning as a CISO by Rich Baich
  • Cyber Warfare: Countdown to Zero Day by Kim Zetter


  • “The Cybersecurity Canon continues to mature into a highly curated list of ‘must-read’ books in which the content is timeless, genuinely represents an aspect of our community that is true and precise, and, if not read, leaves a hole in a cybersecurity professional’s perspective.  We are thrilled to induct four authors into the canon today, and we thank Rich Baich, Brian Krebs, Clifford Stoll and Kim Zetter for their contributions to this list of books every cybersecurity professional should read.”  

- Rick Howard, CSO, Palo Alto Networks

About the Cybersecurity Canon

Launched in 2014 by Palo Alto Networks Chief Security Officer Rick Howard, the Cybersecurity Canon aims to promote the continued education of cybersecurity professionals by providing a curated list of both fiction and non-fiction works that advance the discussion of modern industry issues. A Cybersecurity Canon advisory board of tenured researchers, industry professionals and journalists who have devoted their careers to the field of cybersecurity meets during the year to vote on new inclusions and future honorees. Nominees for the canon awards are selected by the committee.  Practitioners are also invited to vote for nominees as part of the selection process. 

2015 Advisory Board Members:

  • Robert Clark, Lawyer, Army Cyber Institute, United States Military Academy
  • Rick Howard, CSO, Palo Alto Networks
  • Parmy Olson, Journalist, Forbes & 2014 Cybersecurity Canon Award Winning Author
  • Dr. Daniel Ragsdale, Program Manager, Defense Advance Research Project Agency
  • Matt Richard, Security Researcher, Facebook
  • Steve Winterfield, Information Security Officer, Nordstrom Bank

Additional Information:

About Palo Alto Networks

Palo Alto Networks is leading a new era in cybersecurity by protecting thousands of enterprise, government, and service provider networks from cyber threats.  Unlike fragmented legacy products, our security platform safely enables business operations and delivers protection based on what matters most in today's dynamic computing environments: applications, users, and content.  Find out more at

Palo Alto Networks and the Palo Alto Networks Logo are trademarks of Palo Alto Networks, Inc. in the United States and in jurisdictions throughout the world. All other trademarks, trade names or service marks used or mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.

Media Contacts:

Jennifer Jasper-Smith
Head of Corporate Communications
Palo Alto Networks